Life Dates
  Special People 
  Mother Mary 
  St. Mary's 
  Buy a Book 
  Museum Shop 
  Find Us 
  Our Future 
  Our Beginnings 
  Photo Gallery 
  Insp. Message 
  Contact Us 


Lay Third Order of Carmel

The term Third Order designates persons who live according to the Third Rule of a Roman Catholic religious order. Their members, known as Tertiaries, are generally lay members of religious orders, i.e. men and women who do not necessarily live in a religious community and yet can claim to wear the habit and participate in the good works of some great order.

A "Secular Order" (also called a "Third Order Secular") is defined according to Canon Law (1983) of the Latin Rite of the Roman Catholic Church in the following way:

Associations whose members share in the spirit of some religious institute while in secular life, lead an apostolic life, and strive for Christian perfection under the higher direction of the same institute are called third orders or some other appropriate name.". (Can. 303) Code of Canon Law of the Roman Catholic Church.

The Lay Carmelites are the Third order associated with the Carmelites. It was established in 1476 by a bull of Pope Sixtus IV and is known for devotion to Mary, under her title as Our Lady of Mount Carmel

Logo of the Third Order of Carmel



Life Dates | Visitors | Museum | Special People | Holy Mother Mary
St. Mary's ChurchBecome a Volunteer | Buy a Book | Museum Shop
How to Find Us | Our Future | Our Beginnings | Photo Gallery | Links | Personal Testimonies
Calendar of Events | Bishop Sheen Quotes | Inspirational Messages | Contact Us | Home